CTL/BP Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards

Teaching assistants presenting awards at Celebrating Teaching Day eventWith the continuing support of BP America, since 1992, the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) has honored outstanding teaching assistants (TAs) with this Institutewide award. It is meant to reward outstanding contributions made by TAs in supporting Georgia Tech's mission in undergraduate education. There are three award categories: graduate TA, undergraduate TA, and graduate student serving as instructor of record. Up to three cash awards will be given each year. 

Questions? Contact Joyce Weinsheimer.

  • April: Call for nominations.
  • Early November: Deadline for nominations.
  • Late November: Nominee names sent to departments.
  • Mid December: Deadline for departments to select finalists.
  • Late January: Deadline for departments to send in packets for finalists.
  • March: Finalists and departmental representatives recognized at Celebrating Teaching Day.
Eligibility Criteria
  • Candidates should be current graduate or undergraduate students at the time of nomination.
  • At time of selection, they should have served in the relevant award category's teaching role for at least one complete semester at Georgia Tech.
  • Candidates should be nominated by a student, faculty, or staff member who has first-hand knowledge of the nominee's teaching experience.

(Previous departmental finalists may be re-nominated, provided that they have served as a TA since the time of the last nomination. Previous winners of the award may be re-nominated only if their teaching role has changed, and they are now eligible to be nominated for a different category of award.)

Nomination Process

Students, faculty, or staff members may nominate a graduate or undergraduate TA, or graduate student instructor using the online nomination form. Nominee names and information will be sent to the respective academic units each year in early December. Departments may develop their own criteria for the selection of their finalists. However, each department may only select a single finalist per category. Departments should select their finalists and notify CTL by mid December. After choosing their finalists, each department will prepare a full nomination packet for each and return it to CTL by the end of January. Then, a committee of faculty will score the nominations and select the award recipients. Click here for the online nomination form.

Previous Winners

Graduate TA: Philip Varney, Mechanical Engineering
Graduate Student Instructor: Anthony Bonifonte, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Bonnie Shoai, Psychology

Graduate TA: Allison Martin, Psychology
Graduate Student Instructor: G. James Lemoine Jr., Business
Undergraduate TA: Arun Kumar, Biomedical Engineering

Graduate TA: Ranjini Vaidyanathan, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: German Retana, Business
Undergraduate TA: Andrew Travis Rogers, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Rebecca Cooper, Biology
Graduate Student Instructor: Elise Barrella, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Melanie Dunn, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Daniel Borrero, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Ben Deaton, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Aerin DeJarnette, Biology

Graduate TA: Huy Huynh, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Jill Coffin, Digital Media
Undergraduate TA: Sunny Shah, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Marcos Caballero, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Selma Yildirim Yolcu, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Laura Stilz, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Brian Jacobs, Management
Graduate Student Instructor: Mitchel Keller, Math
Undergraduate TA: Wendy Morrison, Biology

Graduate TA: Christina Carroll, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Hal Hollis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Karla Vincent, Biology

Graduate TA: Joanna Hass, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Ryan Michael Haynes, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Samer Tawfik, Aerospace Engineering